Louisiana Advisory Council on Student Behavior and Discipline

Tuesday, June 5, 2018 Claiborne State Office Building, Iowa Room, 1-153 Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Official Minutes

The June 5, 2018 meeting of the Advisory Council on Student Behavior and Discipline was called to order at 10:04 a.m. by Mr. Shawn Fleming. Members present were: Ms. JoAnn Achord, Ms. Anna Arkin-Gallagher, Ms. Dianna Keller attended as proxy for Ms. Katie Barras, Ms. Karen Artus attended as proxy for Ms. Julie Comeaux, Ms. Christina Conforto, Mr. Shawn Fleming, Ms. Liz Gary, Mr. Royce Hooks, Mr. Raymond Jetson, Dr. Cassidy Juneau, Rep. Ted James attended as a proxy for Ms. Arielle McConduitt, Mr. Michael Ortego, Ms. Laci Polotzola, Mr. Brad Prudhomme, Ms. Sara Godchaux attended as a proxy for Ms. Zoe Savitsky, Ms. Deborah Schum attended as a proxy for Mr. Rob Schlicher, and Ms. Gina Womack.

Ms. Katie Barras, Ms. Julie Comeaux, Ms. Brenda Cosse', Dr. Alan Coulter, Ms. Gina Easterly, Mr. Larry Gage, Supt. Kevin George, Ms. Arielle McConduitt, Ms. Angela Reams-Brown, Mr. Scott Richard, Ms. Caroline Roemer, Ms. Cyndy Rutherford, Ms. Zoe Savitsky, Mr. Rob Schlicher, Mr. Al Simmons, Judge Kim Stansbury, and Ms. Debra Weinberg were absent.

Public comments were received from Mr. Edward Foster.

The Advisory Council on Student Behavior and Discipline did not achieve a quorum for the June 5, 2018 meeting. The chair, Mr. Fleming, introduced the new members of the council. He then facilitated a discussion of SB 465 (Act 600), reviewed workgroup topics and schedules, discussed the model master discipline plan, Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports, future meeting dates and shared reports on discipline disparities with the council.

With no further business before the council, Mr. Fleming adjourned the meeting at 2:00 p.m.